Accolades and Awards

1996 – Quality Improvement Award

Joint Award by the College of Physicians and Surgeons and Saskatchewan Medical Association for Dr. Krishna Kumar’s multiple contributions in the improvement of health care delivery

1999 – “Certificate of Appreciation” by the Hospitals of Regina Foundation

2000 – The Saskatchewan Order of Merit” in October 2000. This is the highest civilian award offered by the government for overall contribution to the people of Saskatchewan in particular, and to the people of Canada in general

2002Award of Excellence by the Saskatchewan Healthcare Association

2002 – The Queen’s Golden Jubilee Medal – For long term meritorious service in the healthcare field.

2004 – The City of Regina named a street after Dr Kumar

2005 – Saskatchewan Centennial Medal Award

2005 – Citizen of the Year by the CTV

2006 – Honorary Life Membership

Unanimous vote by The Board of Canadian Medical Association to acknowledge Dr. Kumar’s various contributions to modern medicine.

2008 – Saskatchewan’s Physician of the Year

Named by the Saskatchewan’s Medical Board of Association  for his international recognition for his research in treating chronic pain

2011 – James H. Graham Award of Merit – By the Royal College of Physicians and Surgeons of Canada

Awards recognize extraordinary specialists

The Royal College’s awards program honour the personal achievements of specialist physicians and recognizes the importance and potential impact of exceptional original research. Our program also supports visiting professorships, which help broaden knowledge and foster scientific dialogue in specialty medicine.

By honouring remarkable physicians each year, we formally recognize the core qualities that distinguish a Fellow of the Royal College.